The wait is finally over: legal cannabis has come to Nevada! The first official sales will kick off at midnight on July 1, 2017 at Reef Dispensaries on Western Avenue, just west of the Las Vegas strip. State Senator Tick Segerblom, one of the leading proponents for legalization, will be the first legal cannabis customer.
Now that the big day has come and cannabis sales will officially be legal in the Battle Born State, brush up on Nevada’s guidelines, including who can purchase product, how much you’re allowed to buy, and more.
Who can purchase cannabis?
Anyone 21 years of age and older, with a valid government-issued identification.
How much cannabis can I purchase?
Up to one ounce of cannabis flower and up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates.
Can I legally grow my own cannabis?
If you’re a Nevada resident, yes, you may! An adult may grow up to six plants in an enclosed, secure space, with up to 12 plants per household.
Can I consume cannabis in public?
Do not consume cannabis in public or in a moving vehicle. It’s also illegal to consume cannabis in casinos or hotels.
Where can I use cannabis?
Consume cannabis responsibly in private residences.
What is the penalty for public consumption of cannabis?
Smoking cannabis in public is punishable by a $600 ticket.
If I visit Nevada from out of state, can I bring cannabis back home with me?
No, transporting cannabis across state lines is illegal. Don’t do it!
How will the legal market affect me as a medical marijuana patient?
In-state and out-of-state medical marijuana patients will still be able to visit dispensaries, and will be exempt from the state’s 10% excise tax on cannabis sales. The adult-use regulations will be very similar to those currently in place, but the Nevada Department of Taxation will now be in charge of overseeing the program, rather than the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Can I drive with cannabis?
You may legally transport cannabis in your car, but smoking cannabis in a car could earn you a DUI charge, including jail time and a fine ranging from $400 to $2,000.
How much will retail cannabis cost?
Marijuana sold by retail shops will have be subject to a 10% excise tax at the point of sale.
Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland. MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.