PTSD Patients Can Now Access Medical Marijuana in Minnesota

ST. PAUL, MN — Minnesota residents who suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) are now eligible to participate in the state’s medical marijuana program.

Late last year state officials announced that PTSD would be added to the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana starting August 1, 2017.

To date, over 100 patients suffering from PTSD have completed the registration and certification process, state officials say, and many more are expected to register with the program.

In 2015, intractable pain was added to the list of qualifying conditions for Minnesota’s medical marijuana program, which now includes the following ailments and conditions:

  • Cancer associated with severe/chronic pain, nausea
    or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting.
  • Glaucoma.
  • Tourette Syndrome.
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS).
  • Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy.
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including
    those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis.
  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease.
  • Terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of less
    than one year
  • Intractable pain
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Patient advocates continue to work with state officials add even more conditions like autism, Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease to the program, which has been criticized as being one of the most limited medical marijuana programs in the country.

Tags: , , , , ,

Thank you for visiting, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.