Tag: NV – Question 2

Nevada Reaps $500k in Pot Taxes while Massachusetts Earns Nothing

A supporter holds up a “Yes on 4” sign at the 2016 Boston Freedom Rally (Scott Gacek/The Daily Chronic)

Two of the states that legalized the adult use of marijuana in November have taken very different approaches to the opening of the retail marijuana marketplace.

In Nevada, where lawmakers and state regulators pushed for an early start to retail marijuana sales six months before the voter-approved measure called for it, marijuana sales began just in time for Fourth of July weekend. And in those four days, the state garnered over half a million dollars in tax revenue — and that’s a conservative estimate.

Meanwhile in Massachusetts, where lawmakers have already delayed the timeline on implementing their voter approved measure by six months, lawmakers have been working behind closed doors on a “repeal and replace” bill to hike the taxes and make other changes to the law.

While lawmakers in Boston debate whether to stick with the 10 to 12 percent tax approved by voters, which is what the state Senate voted on, or to jack up the tax upward of 28 percent that is favored by the House in what can only be perceived as a money grab by state officials who want their cut of the pie.

But the problem in Massachusetts is their approach.  In December, when most lawmakers weren’t even in the State House, about half a dozen lawmakers quickly passed a law that delayed the start of marijuana sales by six months.  At the same time in Nevada, a state senator began the push to allow marijuana sales to begin as soon as possible, which eventually became a six-month early start.

Massachusetts lawmakers reasoned that they need to extend the implementation timeline by six months so they could rewrite the law. Because, you know, in a state that boasts some of the country’s most renown academic institutions and is ranked number one in the nation for education, voters clearly can’t read or be trusted to know what they’re voting on.  Obviously, the 200 members of the state legislature know better than the 1,769,328 residents who voted in favor of Question 4.

Bay State lawmakers say they need to raise the sales tax on marijuana to cover the costs of administering the program. But while they wait, Nevada has already earned over $500,000 in taxes in just four days, and is on pace to generate over $30 million in marijuana tax revenue this year alone.

And that doesn’t include the payroll taxes that will be collected by employees working legally in the cannabis industry. Or the meal taxes that will be generated by stoners with the munchies. Or sales taxes collected on ancillary products such as grow equipment and smoking gear.

Of course, if you raise the taxes too much, nobody is going to buy weed legally.  Most consumers wouldn’t balk at a ten percent marijuana tax, which is just a little higher than the statewide sales tax on other consumer goods, and would likely turn to the legal marketplace when it comes time to buy some bud.

Lower taxes lead to lower prices, which leads to people buying more in the long run, generating more taxes as the cycle continues.  But if you more than double the tax, as proposed by lawmakers in the House, cannabis consumers won’t be as inclined to buy weed legally, especially if black market prices remain more competitive.  It’s not like Massachusetts residents haven’t been driving to tax-free New Hampshire for decades when making large purchases or anything.

But hey, what do I know? I’m just a voter who consumes a lot of cannabis, tax free.  And as long as the buffoons on Beacon Hill try circumvent the will of voters, so will thousands of cannabis consumers in Massachusetts.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Can Nevada’s Recreational Marijuana Supply Keep up With Demand?

It’s been less than a week since recreational marijuana sales began in Nevada, and business is booming.  With sales even higher than expected, combined with an ongoing legal battle with alcohol distributors, supply issues could soon cause a buzz kill.

Early recreational marijuana sales began at several dozen medical marijuana dispensaries statewide on Saturday at midnight, with many dispensaries seeing long lines all weekend long as tourists and locals alike wait up to 45 minutes to purchase marijuana legally.

Dispensaries, such as Releaf in Las Vegas, have seen sales skyrocket from about 150 medical patients per day to over 1,000 customers per day all weekend long.  Euphoria Wellness, also in Las Vegas, also estimates serving 1,000 patients each day over the holiday weekend.

On average, dispensary operators say most customers buy around a quarter ounce of pot, and maybe an edible or two.

“I’m a very happy with the way sales have gone and continue to go, especially when you consider that the word didn’t really get out ahead of time.” said Andrew Jolley, president of the Nevada Dispensary Association told the Associated Press. “The public really only had a couple of weeks’ notice, whereas Colorado had a full year to prepare.”

The Nevada Dispensary Association estimates retail marijuana sales were approximately $3 to $5 million statewide over the weekend.

Recreational marijuana in Nevada is taxed 10% at the point of sale, and is expected to generate approximately $30 million in tax revenue this year.

While business may be booming and tax coffers increasing, higher than expected sales from the start brings about a real possibility of rising prices and short supply in coming weeks.

The price of wholesale marijuana in Nevada has risen to around $2,600 per pound, up $1,000 on average from just a month ago, as dispensaries stocked up in preparation for what was, at the time, an on-again, off-again, on-again July 1st start date.

But now, even the most prepared dispensaries could soon see a shortage of pot as a legal challenge between state regulators and alcohol distributors plays out.

Under Nevada’s recreational marijuana law, alcohol distributors were given the exclusive rights to transport recreational marijuana from growers and processors to dispensaries for the first 18 months of recreational sales, which were originally expected to begin in early 2018.

But because of the early start to recreational sales, with the state granting permission to medical marijuana dispensaries to sell to anyone 21 or older, none of the state’s alcohol distributors have been issued licenses to transport cannabis.

State regulators from the Department of Taxation say they had reached out to alcohol distributors in November, but received “insufficient interest” in the recreational cannabis industry.

The department said it only a handful of liquor dealers showed minor interest, but no concrete business plans were submitted for how those companies would distribute marijuana.

“While some were ‘interested,’ none followed up to indicate that they had a plan going forward to be ready to serve the market or that they had sorted out issues with respect to their federal liquor license,” the department said in March.  Cannabis distribution licenses cost $15,000 under the temporary regulations that go into effect with the state’s early start program.

Because liquor distributors are licensed on the federal level, where cannabis remains illegal, acting as a distributor of marijuana in Nevada could put those licenses at risk.

In March, the department decided that it would open the applications for distribution licenses beyond alcohol distributors, because the cannabis industry would not be able to operate.

But then came a legal challenge from the Independent Alcohol Distributors of Nevada, and a district judge in Carson City ruled in favor of the liquor distributors, giving them the exclusive right to transport recreational marijuana to dispensaries.

As a result of the judge’s ruling, marijuana retailers will only be able to sell their existing inventory.

The tax department is appealing the decision, but hope to begin issuing distribution licences to alcohol distributors soon.

“We expect to have some distributors licensed within the next three weeks or so,” Stephanie Klapstein, a spokesperson for the Nevada Department of Taxation, told CNN.

Most dispensaries say they have enough stock on hand to last several weeks, even with the increased sales from recreational customers, as long as the kinks in distribution are worked out soon.

“If this goes on for months, we’re screwed,” said one dispensary manager, who asked not to be identified.  “But for now, we’re good.”

Until then, stock up while you can, because as inventory starts to run low, expect prices to rise.

That’s the surest bet in Vegas.

Tags: , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Legal Marijuana Sales in Nevada: 8 Things You Need to Know

As of 12:01 a.m Saturday, legal adult marijuana sales begin in Nevada. And they will commence immediately, with dispensaries on the Las Vegas Strip announcing plans to be open to usher in Sin City’s newest attraction.

But don’t go lighting up on the Strip! Smoking in public is not allowed.

Nevada now joins Alaska, Colorado, Oregon, and Washington in allowing people to legally buy and sell weed in pot shops. It’s the first of the states where voters legalized it at the polls to see shops open, getting out of the gate ahead of California, Maine, and Massachusetts.

That’s because the state fast-tracked legal pot sales by granting licenses to a few dozen existing medical marijuana dispensaries in order to let them sell to any adults while officials finalized regulations for the legal marijuana market, which was mandated to begin by January 1, 2018.

So, now that you can add legal weed to Las Vegas’s allures, here’s a few things you need to know:

1. How much can I buy? Visitors and residents alike can purchase up to an ounce of buds and up to an eighth-ounce of marijuana edibles.

2. Where can I buy it? Look for medical marijuana dispensaries that have been granted recreational sales licenses. Those are clustered in the Las Vegas and Reno areas, including dispensaries on the Strip. There’s a complete list of dispensaries here, but remember, not all have the recreational sales okay, so if you’re about to go shopping, contact them directly to find out.

3. What do I need? You need to be at least 21 and have government-issued ID that says so. If you’re a medical marijuana card holder, you don’t have to be 21. And you need to have cash. That’s because the federal government refuses to let banks handle marijuana business since pot is still federally illegal. Congress is working on this issue, but in the meantime, hit the ATM ahead of shopping.

4. What should I buy? Regular consumers will have a pretty good idea what they like, but novices can consult their budtenders. There will be a variety of high-quality, high-potency strains on sale, both “stimulating” sativas and “enervating” indicas, as well as a dizzying plethora of hybrid strains.

5. What about edibles? Edibles will be on sale, too, in a wide variety of forms, but because of emergency regulations issued Monday by the Department of Taxation, those products can contain no more than 10 milligrams of THC per dose or 100 milligrams per package. That 10 milligram measure is a good one; novice users will certainly feel an impact at that level. But those emergency regs, which also restrict packaging and labeling are likely to produce initial shortages of edibles given the short lag time between their promulgation and opening day.

6. What’s it going to cost? Grams will be going for $10 to $15, ounces for anywhere from $150 for bargain buds to $325 for the primo. Edibles prices will depend on the various products.

7. Where can I smoke it? Well, therein lies the rub, especially for visitors. The only places smoking pot is allowed are at your home or on your front porch. There’s no smoking it on the Strip, in clubs or casinos, at rock concerts, or any other public place. And there’s no smoking it in hotel rooms, either. Either a lot of tourists are going to end up with public smoking citations, or they start making local friends in a hurry, or they end up paying smoke damage surcharges on their hotel room credit card bills, or all of the above. This is going to have to change, especially since estimates are nearly two-thirds of legal pot buyers are going to be visitors. In the meantime, it could make edibles more attractive.

8. Can I take it home with me? Not if you live in a state where it is illegal. And if you live in a state where it is legal, why bother? If you get caught trying to bring it onto an airplane, the TSA won’t bust you (since they’re looking for terrorists, not tourists), but will turn you over to the local cops, who also won’t bust you (since your weed isn’t illegal in Nevada), but the hassles might cause you to miss your flight.


This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license from StopTheDrugWar.org and was first published here.

Tags: , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Legal Adult Marijuana Sales to Begin in Nevada on Saturday

LAS VEGAS, NV — Legal adult marijuana sales will begin in Nevada on Saturday, making it the fifth state in the nation to establish a regulated marijuana market for adults.

Beginning at 12:01 a.m. PT, adults 21 and older with a valid ID will be able to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana or one-eighth of an ounce of marijuana-infused edibles or concentrates from licensed marijuana retail outlets.

Retail marijuana sales will be subject to a 10 percent sales tax, which state officials estimate will generate more than $60 million in the first two years.

“The marijuana prohibition era is finally coming to an end in Nevada,” said Mason Tvert, director of communications for the Marijuana Policy Project (MPP), which backed Question 2, the initiative to regulate marijuana like alcohol that was approved by approximately 54.5 percent of Nevada voters in November. MPP supported similar, unsuccessful initiatives in Nevada in 2002 and 2006.

“Adults will now be able to purchase marijuana similarly to how they purchase alcohol, from regulated businesses rather than criminals in the illegal market,” Tvert said. “Nevadans voted for safer communities, new tax revenue, and a more sensible marijuana policy. That is exactly what they are going to get.”

Question 2 required the state to initiate adult sales by January 1, 2018, but the Nevada Tax Commission adopted temporary regulations allowing sales to begin six months earlier through existing licensed medical marijuana outlets.

Marijuana possession has been legal for adults 21 and older since Question 2 took effect on January 1, 2017.

Nevada is one of eight states that have enacted laws to legalize, regulate, and tax marijuana for adult use. Regulated adult marijuana sales are currently taking place in Alaska, Colorado, Oregon, and Washington, and they are expected to commence next year in California, Maine, and Massachusetts. A petition drive to place a similar proposal on the November 2018 ballot is currently underway in Michigan.

“Legal marijuana sales in Nevada are going to accelerate growth in public support for ending marijuana prohibition,” Tvert said. “Tens of millions of visitors per year from all over the U.S. and around the world will see firsthand that regulating marijuana works. What happens in Vegas will stay in Vegas, but what is learned about marijuana in Vegas will be shared with everyone back home.”

Tags: , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Nevada Licensed Adult Use Marijuana Sales Set to Begin Saturday

CARSON CITY, NV — Starting this Saturday, July 1, specially licensed medical cannabis dispensaries will have the opportunity to engage in the retail sale of marijuana to adults.

State tax regulators finalized temporary rules on Monday governing adult use sales. Regulators so far have issued over 80 licenses to business establishments seeking to engage in activities specific to the production, testing, or sale of cannabis to adults.

“Adults in Nevada will now be able to access cannabis in a safe, above ground, regulated environment,” NORML Political Director Justin Strekal said. “To their immense credit, lawmakers moved expeditiously to implement the will of their voters. Elected officials elsewhere would do well to follow Nevada’s example.”

Adult use sales are anticipated to be limited because of an ongoing legal dispute regarding who may legally transport cannabis to retail stores. Last week, a Carson City judge issued an injunction prohibiting any entity other than liquor distributors from engaging in retail marijuana transport.

As a result, retailers will only be able to sell their existing inventory.

A majority of voters decided in November in favor of the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act – a voter-initiated regulating the adult use marijuana market. In May, state regulators decided in favor of expediting the timeline for retail marijuana sales from January 1, 2018 to July 1, 2017.

Seven additional states — Alaska, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Washington — no longer impose criminal penalties with regard to the adult possession or use of cannabis.

Tags: , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Which States Allow You to Grow Your Own Marijuana for Recreational Use?

Two cannabis plants being grown for personal use. (Wikimedia Commons)

After the 2016 elections saw four more states legalizing recreational marijuana for adults, a total of eight states, and the District of Columbia, now have removed criminal penalties for the possession of marijuana by those 21 or older.  But with legal, regulated marijuana sales still a year or more away, access to “legal” marijuana can still be difficult, forcing many adults to buy weed on the black market.

Luckily, several states allow adults 21 or older to grow their own limited amounts of marijuana for personal use.  Home growers will still need to procure either clones or seeds to get started, but many organizations and dispensaries in newly legal states have been sponsoring seed giveaways to celebrate, and feminized marijuana seeds are readily available on the internet.

With every state having slightly different laws relating to recreational marijuana use by adults, here’s a state-by-state breakdown of which states allow limited home cultivation by adults.

  • Alaska voters legalized marijuana in 2014.  Under Alaska’s legalization law, adults can grow up to one six cannabis plants for personal use, tax free.
  • California‘s Proposition 64, which passed last year, allows adults who are not participating in the state’s medical marijuana program to grow up to six cannabis plants.
  • Colorado was among the first two states to legalize marijuana, doing so in 2012.  Adults in Colorado are allowed to grow up to six cannabis plants, but only three may be mature.
  • District of Columbia, capital of the United States, allows adults 21 or older to grow up to six cannabis plants.  Unlike the eight states that have legalized marijuana, Washington DC has no plans to tax and regulate marijuana sales, making home cultivation one of the only methods to lawfully obtain cannabis in the District.
  • Maine‘s Question 1 was narrowly passed by voters in November, legalizing marijuana for adults.  Adults are allowed to grow up to six mature cannabis plants and twelve immature plants.
  • Massachusetts residents 21 or older, for now anyway, are allowed to grow up to six cannabis plants.  However, some lawmakers want to reduce that limit, but have been so far unsuccessful in doing so.
  • Nevada also currently allows adults to grow up to six cannabis plants.  However, under Nevada law, home cultivation is only allowed by those living more than 25 miles from a licensed marijuana retailer once regulated recreational marijuana sales begin.
  • Oregon, where retail sales of marijuana have been allowed since late 2015, allows adults to grow up to four marijuana plants for recreational use.
  • Washington state, one of the first two states to legalize marijuana, is the only state that currently regulates and taxes marijuana sales but does not allow home cultivation by adults.

Hopefully, more states will allow responsible adults to grow cannabis in the near future, but until then, these states allow those with a green thumb to grow their own ganja.

Tags: , , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Nevada Retail Marijuana Sales to Begin This July

Nevada regulators have approved rules to allow for the expedited sales of cannabis to adults.

Members of the Nevada Tax Commission voted 6 to 1 on Monday to license select medical dispensaries to engage in retail sales of non-medical cannabis.

Dispensaries in good standing with the state will be able to apply for “early start” licenses on May 15. Those facilities who are approved by state regulators will be able to engage in adult use marijuana sales on July 1.

A majority of voters decided last November in favor of The Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, a voter-initiated measure regulating the commercial marijuana market.

Provisions in the law eliminating criminal penalties regarding the personal possession of personal use quantities of cannabis took effect on January 1, 2017.

Separate provisions in the measure regulating the commercial production and sales of cannabis were initially slated to take effect on January 1, 2018.

Regulators decision to expedite marijuana sales is in sharp contrast to the actions of lawmakers in several other states, including Maine and Massachusetts — both of which have taken steps to delay adult use marijuana sales by several months.

Tags: , , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Nevada Lawmakers Moving Forward With Expedited Plan For Adult Use Marijuana Sales

Nevada Lawmakers Moving Forward With Expedited Plan For Adult Use Marijuana Sales | NORML

CARSON CITY, NV — State officials in Nevada are holding firm on an expedited plan to begin adult use marijuana sales in July, despite comments from the Trump administration indicating a forthcoming crackdown in states that regulate its commercial production and sale. Nevada Department of Taxation spokeswoman Stephanie Klapstein told the Associated Press that the agency […]

Nevada Lawmakers Moving Forward With Expedited Plan For Adult Use Marijuana Sales | The Daily Chronic


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Nevada Becomes the Seventh State to Eliminate Marijuana Possession Penalties

CARSON CITY, NV — Nevada has become the seventh state to eliminate criminal penalties specific to the adult possession and personal use of cannabis.

Language in Question 1: The Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative specific to the possession and cultivation of marijuana took effect on Sunday, January 1.

It permits adults who are not participating in the state’s existing medical cannabis program to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and/or up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates.

An adult may also lawfully grow up to six plants in their home if they reside 25 miles or more away from an operating marijuana retailer.

Public use of the plant remains a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $600.

Separate provisions in the statute also license the commercial production and retail sale of cannabis. Those regulations do not take effect until January 1, 2018.

Fifty-five percent of Nevada voters approved the measure on Election Day.

Alaska, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Washington have previously adopted voter-initiated laws legalizing the private consumption and sale of cannabis by adults.

The District of Columbia also permits adults to legally possess and grow personal use quantities of marijuana in private residences.

Similar legislation in Maine is scheduled to take effect on January 30.

Tags: , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.

Marijuana Possession is Now Legal in Nevada

On January 1, Nevada became the seventh US state to eliminate criminal penalties specific to the adult possession and personal use of cannabis.

RELATED: Nevada Lawmaker Wants Recreational Marijuana Sales to Start ASAP

“What happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas,” NORML Executive Director Erik Altieri said. “Voters in the western region of the United States are leading the way toward the eventual nationwide re-legalization of marijuana by responsible adults. Federal laws need to reflect this reality, not deny it.”

On Election Day, 55 percent of Nevada voters approved Question 2, the Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative. The law permits adults who are not participating in the state’s existing medical cannabis program to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and/or up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates.

An adult may also lawfully grow up to six plants in their home if they reside 25 miles or more away from a marijuana retailer.

Provisions in the law also permit for the possession and sale of marijuana-related paraphernalia as well as the gifting of small amounts of cannabis for no financial remuneration. Public use of the plant remains a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $600.

Separate provisions in the statute also license the commercial production and retail sale of cannabis, which will be subject to a 15 percent excise tax. Those regulations do not take effect until January 1, 2018.

Alaska, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Washington have previously adopted voter-initiated laws legalizing the private consumption of cannabis by adults. The District of Columbia also permits adults to legally possess and grow personal use quantities of marijuana in private residences. Similar legislation in Maine is anticipated to go into effect in early 2017.

Tags: , , , , ,


Thank you for visiting MDMMCC.com, the premier Medical Marijuana Certification Center in Maryland. Our Mission at the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification Clinics (MDMMCC) is to provide the certification necessary for qualified patients to obtain Medical Marijuana in compliance with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws in the State of Maryland.  MDMMCC will have offices open throughout Maryland.